Why Persistence isn’t a Virtue

Me: “Lexi, get dressed, we’re going to Nana and Papa’s.”

Lexi: “I’m going to wear my pajama’s to Nana and Papa’s.”

Me: “No, you can’t wear your jammies, go get changed.”

Lexi:  “Why can’t I wear my jammies?”

Me: don’t feel the need to explain everything, want to say “because I said so” but don’t, hope the ignoring technique will work

Lexi:  “Why can’t I wear my jammies?”

Me: continue to clean up the kitchen, sticking with the ignoring technique

Lexi:  “Why can’t I wear my jammies?”

Me:  clean the kitchen table, continue ignoring technique

Lexi:  “Why can’t I wear my jammies?” (repeat x8…I counted)

Me:  finally can’t stand it and leave the room to get ready myself

Me: return 15 minutes later (and I kid you not) the second I step in the room she says…

Lexi:  “Why can’t I wear my jammies?”

Me:  who thought of the stupid ignoring technique, clearly they have never met my daughter

 

-Cindy

P.S.  She did not go to Nana and Papa’s in her jammies.  “The van’s leaving in 10 minutes!” did the trick…this time.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Why Persistence isn’t a Virtue

  1. This ‘van leaving’ doesn’t work for me. Why exactly couldn’t she…?

  2. Katie

    If she’s that persistent in stuff like finding a job later in life, you’ll be happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

