Pressing Questions of an 8-year-old Girl

Here’s how the conversation went on the way back from dropping off Joey at soccer.  It was just Lexi, my 8-year-old, and me.

Lexi: “Mom, can I get extensions for my hair?  My friend at school has extensions and they are so cool.”

Me:  “Well, I don’t know.”

Lexi: “Do you know how to do extensions?”

Me: “No, I’ve never learned how to do extensions.  It looks pretty hard, it must take a lot of practice.”

Lexi: (changing subjects) “Did you name me after a store?”

Me: “A store?” (trying to think of any stores named “Lexi”)

Lexi: “Yeah, I saw a store once called ‘Lexi’s Nails'”

Me: “No, you were not named after ‘Lexi’s Nails’, Lexi was a just a name me and your Dad really liked.”

Lexi: (changing subjects again) “Did you know you can’t make pig noises with your mouth closed?  Try it.  You have to have your mouth open to make pig noises.”

Me:  …C’mon what do you say to that?  “No, I did not know that.”  I said, smiled and looked in the rear view mirror wondering where life is going to bring this inquisitive girl of mine.

-Cindy

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Pressing Questions of an 8-year-old Girl

  1. I had to click over and read this because I had posted this a couple of weeks ago:
    http://penneyfox.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/sunday-funnys-questions-from-an-8-year-old-boy/

    I couldn’t help but wonder if 8 year-olds asked the same questions!
    thanks for the laugh this morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

