Thanksgiving Weekend Re-cap

I know it was several days ago but we did celebrate Thanksgiving and it actually went pretty well.  Our tradition is to go out to eat  Wednesday night with my husband’s side of the family and then this year I hosted my side of the family at out house on Thursday.

Wednesday night we agreed on going to the local pizza parlor (little known fact that some of the first pilgrims actually preferred pizza to turkey).  I would say we had a wonderful time but in all reality it was like taking a handful of hamsters out to eat.  The kids were so squirrely   I spent most of the time saying yelling “sit”, felt like I should be at a dog training school.  It was like watching the moles from the “Whack-em” mole game, as soon as I would get one to sit down another one would pop up (just for the record I did not whack any of them with a fluff-stuffed mallet, or anything else).  They wanted to get up to talk to Nana and get up to go see their niece, and get up to see the candy machine and to climb in the booth on the other side.  At one point one of the little girls was hanging over the edge of the booth wide-eyed at another family’s spaghetti.

(Did I mention we rarely go out to eat?)

Once the food arrived it was better but still a bit hectic.  Somehow one of the kid ordered themselves a pop and trust me when I say a few of our kids become very different creatures people when exposed to high levels of sugar and/or caffeine.

I did get to partake in a couple three-sentence conversations with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law which was nice but next time I think we have to rethink the dining arrangements.

For Thanksgiving day I have hosted before but only a couple of times.  My mother usually does the whole deal.  She is an excellent cook and everything comes out on time and delicious.   Here’s what I learned, she made it look so easy!!  With 8 people in our family I make a big dinner every night but I was so nervous that everything would be done at the same time and not late.  Well I accomplished that BUT I had everything piping hot ready to go around 11:30 (our guests were to arrive at noon) and so I had to reheat most of it.  The turkey was done on time and turned out great although I think I need to watch a few more “How to Carve your Turkey” videos on Youtube before next year.  If you saw it, you’d know why.

My older brother Tim, his wife and their two little girls came along with my younger brother Bill who just moved back here from Oklahoma so it was nice to have him join us.  My folks this year got to go out to eat for dinner at a really nice buffet and then joined us for dessert.  After we were done eating this is the first year we let all the kids go downstairs on their own to “play”.  No one ended up bleeding and nothing got broke so that went well.  Then we all went out back to play some backyard football.  Nerf, two-hand touch.  Pretty funny to watch a 4-year-old make a touchdown (perhaps the uncles went easy on her).  It was beautiful out, about 55 degrees (warm for MN) but then a couple of hours later we looked out the window and it was snowing!  Crazy Minnesota weather.  We then watched some football and my parents joined us (my dad is a huge Lion’s fan…everyone else is NOT!).  Then we had some pie and I chatted with my sister-in-law while we cleaned up.

Overall it went well.  There was a bit to clean up in the basement after letting the kids supervise each other but it was worth it to have some adult conversation with my family.  A lot to be thankful for.

-Cindy

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

