Another Milestone

The kids are finally past that “tie the sitter up and lock her in the closet” stage that all kids go through.  In the last week I have been able to go to two holiday parties with Jerad.  In the past we have always had to divide and conquer, split the kids up to other’s houses or get two sitters (or most often just stay home).  This has been the first time we have attempted to have one sitter watch the kids and get them to bed.  I’m not sure what happened between, “Goodbye, love ya, be good for the sitter!” and arriving home but both times the kids were all asleep and the police/ambulance/S.W.A.T had not been called so I don’t really need to know what happened.  The sitter did not grab her bag and flee our home screaming, “Crazy…crazy…they’re all crazy!” so I think that is also a good sign.

Last night I recruited my brother to watch the kids.  Uncle Bill.  He is a youth pastor and is used to chaos so I thought this would be right up his alley.  Sure enough when we got home he was sitting on the couch and all the kids were asleep!  Don’t need to know the details.  When asked, “Which is more challenging, watching 95 Jr.High kids or 6 Rasmussen’s?”  his response was “6 of one, half a dozen of another.”  He has agreed to come back this weekend to help out so I think it went “fine”.

This morning Callie came in still sleepy, “Where’s Uncle Bill?  I miss him.”  That was so sweet.  Apparently I’m not the only one on this planet capable of taking care of my kids.  Yeah, I get that.  It’s good for me to get out.  Jerad and I had a fun time and it was good to talk to people over 13.  A win-win for everyone.  Next time…a 2-week trip to Paris!!! (or maybe dinner and a movie).

-Cindy

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

