Top 5 Signs Your Child Might NOT be Ready to Use Scissors Unsupervised

1.  Australia has almost been removed from the map

1. Australia has almost been removed from the map

2.  Little Olivia got a haircut...

2. Little Olivia got a haircut…

3. ...so did all the paintbrushes

3. …so did all the paintbrushes

4.  "Could you close the blinds?"  "Why no, I can't, someone CUT OFF the strings!"

4. “Could you close the blinds?” “Why no, I can’t, someone CUT OFF the strings!”

5.  "Look Mom, I have wireless headphones now!"

5. “Look Mom, I have wireless headphones now!”

 

I know, I know, you’re thinking what on earth were you doing while your kids ran around the house in a crazy cutting frenzy?  Well, these are cumulative findings that have been discovered over the course of time, however I am baffled that at my kids’ ages these still occur.  I don’t get it.  But maybe it’s like the urge some kids have to eat play dough or snap crayons in half…I know they will grow out of it.  I do want to reassure you that if your kids come over for a playdate we now keep the scissors in a lock box, so your kids should go home with the same amount of hair as they had when they arrived…hopefully…well, no guarantees.

-Cindy

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Signs Your Child Might NOT be Ready to Use Scissors Unsupervised

  1. i always have to explain to parents, each year, why someone’s hair has been cut, as i swear i am always watching them with scissors. the urge to apply what they’ve learned, ‘scissors cut things,’ is endlessly tempting. think they probably assume most of these ‘cuts’ are temporary and seems as surprised as we are, when they discover they are not. )

  2. As a former child who cut her own hair, I have to ask, is it so bad that it was the dolls hair? I was one of seven and if you could chat with my mom today, and I wish you could because she would have a list to compare with you that would make you feel so much better. I still trim my own bangs, some cuts are better than others. And Cindy, you have such long beautiful hair, the better to snip and trim as a Mother’s Day gift! Long live the Olivia doll!

  3. My 5 year old cut off her 2 year old sister’s bangs with kiddie scissors. When asked what happened the “cutter” replied “I don’t know what happened the scissors were just there.” That was 24 years ago and they have both survived to adulthood. 🙂

  4. i shaved the sides of my hair off. I looked like a hot mess. i was teased for like a month until my hair grew back.

  5. Pingback: Christmas Crafts? | Barren to Bonkers!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

