On the Stage

Lexi's Fourth Grade Family Breakfast Concert

Lexi’s Fourth Grade Family Breakfast Concert

Last Friday was the 4th grade Family Breakfast where all the fourth graders come in before school with their families, have breakfast and put on a short concert.  It is always super cute, they do it for every grade, and even though this was the sixteenth family breakfast I’ve been to (one for each kid, each year for the last 10 years or so) I had a good time.

DSCF5317

Johnny is a thief in Oliver!

Then last weekend it was opening weekend for Oliver! the community theatre production that Johnny is in.  On opening night I volunteered to work backstage as “Kid Corraler” and keep the kids (about 30 of them) contained in the dressing room.  Always be cautious of volunteer jobs that have the most vacancies, like when the kids were in hockey and I volunteered for the late shift at the concession stands…thats the person that has to clean the whole place, including the popcorn maker before they can go home.  You live and learn.  This job was kind of like that…well not that bad actually.  I admit I had fun and it made it more enjoyable the next day when I got to watch the performance and see the kids in action.  They were amazing!  I was really proud of Johnny, so glad he’s found his niche.  Another thing I learned about the theatre, that I quickly remembered upon arriving and taking off my jacket, is that backstage people are encouraged to wear black.  The crew, the helpers, the other moms, all in black…me?…bright pink half-zip fleece…oh yeah!

"Go tell it on the mountain!"

“Go tell it on the mountain!”

The third performance was the 3,4,5 year-olds at Wednesday night church.  I remember when the girls performed a few years back and they took their name tags off and stuck them over their mouths…so proud.  This year they sang.  It was really cute.  It doesn’t get much better than a bunch of little kids singing, “Go tell it on the mountain!”

Josh does not have any shows coming up but he did just start taking guitar lessons.  He is eyeing a “Beetles” song book to work his way up to.  Or maybe a garage band.

Joey doesn’t have any shows coming up either but I did learn from him that apparently our living room is an open stage to his friends on Xbox Live while he is playing his games.  “So they can hear what I’m saying right now?”  “Yes!” the TV answered back.  I’m not sure I want to be on speaker phone to the world in my own home.

So that is the crew.  Gearing up for winter “break”…all sixteen days of it…not that I’m counting.

-Cindy

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

